clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

NYCFC releases protected player list for MLS Expansion Draft, including Mix Diskerud!

The club may well have other plans for the Mix Master.

Brad Penner-USA TODAY Sports

This afternoon, the 20 current MLS franchises released their protected and unprotected player lists ahead of tomorrow’s Expansion Draft for new 2017 sides Atlanta United and Minnesota United.

For New York City FC, the list wasn’t boiling over with surprises. But from where we sit, there was definitely one:


1. Sean Johnson

2. RJ Allen

3. Maxime Chanot

4. Frederic Brillant

5. Ronald Matarrita

6. Mix Diskerud!

7. Andrea Pirlo

8. Mikey Lopez

9. Tommy McNamara

10. Khiry Shelton

11. David Villa

NOTE: Jack Harrison (Generation Adidas) and new signing Sean Okoli are automatically exempt from selection.

Ol’ Mixy! He’s exempt! Hands-off, other teams! He’s our guy!

My first thought is that protecting Mix means that there’s a proper deal in the cards for him during the proper wintertime transfer window— anyone selected during an Expansion Draft walks away without any cash changing hands. New York City FC values the U.S. international midfielder too much to let him mosey off for free, which sounds like decent enough business indeed.

Thus, here are the players left unprotected, including those whose contracts are set to expire at the end of the calendar year:

  • Eirik Johansen
  • Andre Rawls
  • Josh Saunders
  • Shannon Gomez
  • Ethan White
  • Jefferson Mena
  • Connor Brandt
  • Jason Hernandez (expiring)
  • Diego Martinez (exp.)
  • Tony Taylor (exp.)

Stay tuned for all the latest on the Expansion Draft tomorrow!