clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Sean Johnson, Tommy McNamara named to United States’ provisional 40-man Gold Cup team

Let’s win a chip, boys!

Jeff Swinger-USA TODAY Sports

Tommy chopped off his hair; the gods trembled. Sean just battled, and battled some more. For their tireless industry in the famous Etihad shirt, two of New York City FC’s favorites will have a chance at Gold Cup glory this summer.

The official word was handed down Sunday: Sean Johnson and Tommy McNamara are among 40 players name to Bruce Arena’s provisional U.S. National Team squad ahead of the biennial CONCACAF competition.

Johnson has five USMNT caps dating back to 2011, while McNamara, who is also eligible to play for Ireland, has yet to make an international appearance.

Before the Americans assemble for camp ahead of their Gold Cup kickoff against Martinique on July 8th, Arena will trim down the preliminary roster, so there’s far from any guarantee that T-Mac and SeanJohn will get their shot. But the announcement comes as welcome validation for NYCFC fans that their team is doing something right, and that the #influencers are noticing.

Good luck, gents!


GK: Joe Bendik (Orlando City), Jesse Gonzalez (FC Dallas), Brad Guzan (Atlanta), Bill Hamid (DC United), Tim Howard (Colorado), !!!SEAN JOHN!!!

DEF: Matt Besler (Sporting KC), Steve Birnbaum (DC United), Greg Garza (Atlanta), Omar Gonzalez (Pachuca), Matt Hedges (FC Dallas), Eric Lichaj (Nottingham Forest), Matt Miazga (Chelsea), Justin Morrow (Toronto), Matt Polster (Chicago), Jonathan Spector (Orlando City), Jorge Villafaña (Santos Laguna), Graham Zusi (Sporting KC)

MID: Paul Arriola (Club Tijuana), Alejandro Bedoya (Philadelphia), Michael Bradley (Toronto), Joe Corona (Club Tijuana), Dax McCarty (Chicago), !!!TOMMY MAC!!!, Darlington Nagbe (Portland), Kellyn Acosta (FC Dallas), Chris Pontius (Philadelphia), Christian Pulisic (Borussia Dortmund), Cristian Roldan (Seattle), Kelyn Rowe (New England), Kenny Saief (Gent), Wil Trapp (Columbus), Gyasi Zardes (LA Galaxy)

FWD: Juan Agudelo (New England), Jozy Altidore (Toronto FC), Clint Dempsey (Seattle), Dom Dwyer (Sporting KC), Jordan Morris (Seattle), C.J. Sapong (Philadelphia), Chris Wondolowski (San Jose)