clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

David Villa wins Best MLS Player at the 2017 ESPY Awards

More hardware for el Guaje.

Reinhold Matay-USA TODAY Sports

Jarrius Robertson won the ESPYs, so all is as it should be. But we kept score all night— David Villa came in second.

Yes, New York City FC’s captain and the reigning league MVP took home Best MLS Player honors. This is not surprising, because el Guaje is basically the Denzel Washington of MLS players: he’s in his own category. He doesn’t have peers.

What was surprising? The other nominees. Let’s take stock:

  • Andre Blake
  • Stefan Frei
  • Matt Hedges
  • Bradley Wright-Phillips


Ya think the right guy won?

As Villa told

“I’m very happy and proud to receive this award on behalf of all of my teammates and coaches who help me every day to score goals and to win games for NYCFC.

“Ever since I came to this club I’ve been living an amazing dream in this incredible city playing for this great club and its passionate fans.

“Thank you to everyone who voted for me for this prestigious award – it means so much to me.”


2016: Sebastian Giovinco

2015: Robbie Keane

2014: Tim Cahill

2013: Thierry Henry

2012: David Beckham

2011: Landon Donovan

2010: Landon Donovan

2009: Landon Donovan

2008: David Beckham

2007: Landon Donovan

2006: Landon Donovan