clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

NYCFC drawn into Group A for MLS Tournament

The Blues face old foe Orlando and two expansion clubs in return to play next month

SOCCER: MAR 11 Concacaf Champions League Quarterfinal - New York City FC v Tigres UANL Photo by Rich Graessle/Icon Sportswire via Getty Images

The MLS is Back Tournament will begin on July 8, with the winner receiving juicy prizes in the way of a 2021 CONCACAF Champions League berth and $1.1 million in prize money.

The MLSIB Tournament will feature all 26 of the league’s clubs placed in six groups — one group of 6, five of 4 — where each club will play three group stage matches, each of which counting towards the official MLS standings. After that, the top two clubs of each group, as well as the four best third-place clubs will advance to the Knockout Rounds.

New York City FC were drawn into Group A — the largest of all groups — where they will join Orlando City, Inter Miami, the Philadelphia Union, Chicago Fire, and Nashville SC. Despite their slow start to the 2020 season, NYCFC would seem to be the on-paper favorite to advance to the Round of 16. At the very least, they should be an advancing team.

Because of Group A’s size, New York City will not be given the opportunity to face every team they were drawn with. As the tournament is formatted, NYCFC will face Orlando, Philadelphia, and Chicago.

Below is a list of all of the groups that were drawn.

Group A

Eastern Conference

  1. Orlando City
  2. Inter Miami CF
  3. New York City FC
  4. Philadelphia Union
  5. Chicago Fire
  6. Nashville SC

Group B

Western Conference

  1. Seattle Sounders
  2. FC Dallas
  3. Vancouver Whitecaps
  4. San Jose Earthquakes

Group C

Eastern Conference

  1. Toronto FC
  2. New England Revolution
  3. Montreal Impact
  4. D.C. United

Group D

Western Conference

  1. Real Salt Lake
  2. Sporting Kansas City
  3. Colorado Rapids
  4. Minnesota United

Group E

Eastern Conference

  1. Atlanta United
  2. FC Cincinnati
  3. New York Red Bulls
  4. Columbus Crew SC

Group F

Western Conference

  1. Los Angeles FC
  2. LA Galaxy
  3. Houston Dynamo
  4. Portland Timbers