clock menu more-arrow no yes

Filed under:

NYCFC announce 2022 regular season, Champions League schedule

New, comments

Most games to be held at Yankee Stadium, some at Citi Field and Red Bull Arena

NYCFC v Toronto FC: MLS Cup Eastern Conference Semifinal Match
Home again is where the heart is.
Photo by Ira L. Black/Corbis via Getty Images

2022 regular-season schedule

New York City FC has released the 2022 regular-season schedule. The season will begin in February to accommodate the FIFA World Cup Finals, which will be held in Qatar from November 21 to December 18. It is the earliest start to a season in the history of MLS.

For the NYCFC faithful, there’s some good news, some more good news, and some annoying news.

First, the good news: This is the most lucid, evenly-spaced schedule in the history of the club. There are no pile-ups of matches, no runs of three home games in one tropical August week. Instead, most matches will take place on the weekend—only a single midweek home game will be played this season.

The more good news? This is also the most rational schedule in memory: Every Eastern Conference team will play each other twice, once at home and once away. The rest of NYCFC’s schedule has some tantalizing matchups with Western Conference heavyweights, starting with the Los Angeles Galaxy on opening day. NYCFC will go on to face some the Colorado Rapids, Minnesota United, Real Salt Lake, Sporting Kansas City, and the Vancouver Whitecaps, all of which made the 2021 MLS Cup Playoffs.

Now, the annoying news: While most of NYCFC’s home games will be at Yankee Stadium, a handful will be at Citi Field, and the August matchup against the expansion Charlotte Football Club will take place at Red Bull Arena. Boooo.

On the one hand, NYCFC’s schedule is looking sharp and professional. On the other, the club is Airbnb-ing its way around the greater metropolitan region.

Here is the complete 2022 regular season schedule for NYCFC:

NYCFC at Los Angeles Galaxy, Sunday, February 27, 5 pm ET

NYCFC at Vancouver Whitecaps, Saturday, March 5, 6 pm ET

NYCFC vs CF Montréal at Yankee Stadium, Saturday, March 12, 1 pm ET

NYCFC vs Philadelphia Union at Yankee Stadium, Saturday, March 19, 1 pm ET

NYCFC at Toronto FC, Saturday, April 2, 4 pm ET

NYCFC vs DC United at Citi Field, Saturday, April 9, 5 pm ET

NYCFC vs Real Salt Lake at Yankee Stadium, Sunday, April 17, 1 pm ET

NYCFC vs Toronto FC at Citi Field, Sunday, April 24, 5 pm ET

NYCFC vs San Jose Earthquakes at Yankee Stadium, Sunday, May 1, 1 pm ET

NYCFC vs Sporting Kansas City at Citi Field, Saturday, May 7, 7 pm ET

NYCFC vs Columbus Crew at Yankee Stadium, Saturday, May 14, 7 pm ET

NYCFC at DC United, Wednesday, May 18, 7:30 pm ET

NYCFC vs Chicago Fire at Citi Field, Sunday, May 22, 5 pm ET

NYCFC at Minnesota United FC, Saturday, May 28, 8 pm ET

NYCFC vs Colorado Rapids at Yankee Stadium, Sunday, June 19, 5 pm ET

NYCFC at Philadelphia Union, Sunday, June 26, 6 pm ET

NYCFC at FC Cincinnati, Wednesday, June 29, 7:30 pm ET

NYCFC vs Atlanta United at Yankee Stadium, Sunday, July 3, 5 pm ET

NYCFC vs New England Revolution at Yankee Stadium, Saturday, July 9, 1 pm ET

NYCFC at FC Dallas, Wednesday, July 13, 9 pm ET

NYCFC at New Jersey Red Bulls, Sunday, July 17, 5 pm ET

NYCFC vs Inter Miami FC at Yankee Stadium, Saturday, July 23, 7 pm ET

NYCFC at CF Montréal, Saturday, July 30, 7:30 pm ET

NYCFC at Columbus Crew, Saturday, August 6, 7:30 pm ET

NYCFC at Inter Miami FC, Saturday, August 13, 8 pm ET

NYCFC vs Charlotte FC at Red Bull Arena, Wednesday, August 17, time TBD

NYCFC at Chicago Fire, Sunday, August 21, 6 pm ET

NYCFC at Orlando City SC, Sunday, August 28, 7:30 pm ET

NYCFC vs DC United at Red Bull Arena, Wednesday, August 31, 8 pm ET (originally scheduled for Saturday, April 9)

NYCFC at New England Revolution, Sunday, September 4, 8 pm ET

NYCFC vs FC Cincinnati at Citi Field, Wednesday, September 7, 8 pm ET

NYCFC at Charlotte FC, Saturday, September 10, 7 pm ET

NYCFC vs New Jersey Red Bulls at Yankee Stadium, Saturday, September 17, time TBD

NYCFC vs Orlando City SC at Citi Field, Saturday, October 1, 7 pm ET

NYCFC at Atlanta United, Sunday, October 9, time TDB

2022 CONCACAF Champions League

Yesterday, the 2022 CONCACAF Champions League draw took place, and NYCFC will play Costa Rican side Santos de Guápiles FC in the Round of 16. The first tie will take be held February 15-17 in Guápiles, and the return tie will be held February 22-24 in New York. The dates and times will be announced later.

CCL UPDATE: NYCFC will play Santos de Guápiles in Costa Rica on Tuesday, February 15 at 8 pm ET; NYCFC City will host Santos de Guápiles in New York City on Wednesday, February 23 at 6 pm ET.

CCL UPDATE: NYCFC will host Comunicaciones FC at Pratt & Whitney Stadium in East Hartford on Tuesday, March 8 at 8 pm ET; NYCFC City will play Comunicaciones at Estadio Doroteo Guamuch Flores in Guatemala City on Tuesday, March 15 at 8 pm ET.

CCL UPDATE: NYCFC will play Seattle Sounders at Lumen Field on Wednesday, April 6 at 10 pm ET; NYCFC City will host Seattle Sounders at Red Bull Arena on Wednesday, April 13 at 9 pm ET.

MLS UPDATE: The match against DC United scheduled to be played at Citi Field on Saturday, April 9 was moved to Red Bull Arena on Wednesday, August 31 at 8 pm ET to accommodate the CCL games against Seattle Sounders.