clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Alex Callens, Taty Castellanos, Sean Johnson named to 2022 MLS All-Star team

Only NYCFC and LAFC have three players named to the squad

Well done.
Photograph by Katie Cahalin, courtesy

Alex Callens, Taty Castellanos, and Sean Johnson have been named to the 2022 MLS All-Star roster. The 26-player team includes Sebastián Driussi (Austin FC), Jesús Ferreira (FC Dallas), Taxi Fountas (DC United) Carles Gil (New England Revolution , Chicharito Hernández (LA Galaxy), and Carlos Vela (LAFC).

The MLS All-Stars will face the Liga MX All-Stars on Wednesday, August 10 at 8:30 pm ET at Allianz Filed in Minnesota.

NYCFC and LAFC are the only clubs with three players named to the squad. (Last year, James Sands was the only New York City player selected.) FC Dallas, LA Galaxy, Minnesota United, Nashville SC, Philadelphia Union, and Seattle Sounders, have two players selected, and Austin FC, FC Cincinnati, Columbus Crew, DC United, Inter Miami, CF Montréal, New England Revolution, and New Jersey Red Bulls have one player selected.

No players were selected from Atlanta United, Chicago Fire, Charlotte FC, Colorado Rapids, Houston Dynamo, Orlando City, Portland Timbers, Real Salt Lake, San Jose Earthquakes, Sporting Kansas City, Toronto FC, and Vancouver Whitecaps.

This is the first time Callens, Castellanos, and Johnson have been named to the MLS All-Star team. Goalkeeper and team captain Johnson is one of two picks made by MLS Commissioner Don Garber.

Here is the complete 26-player roster for the 2022 MLS All-Star squad:

2022 MLS All-Star Roster

Luciano Acosta, FC Cincinnati, AM
Julián Araujo, LA Galaxy, RB
Paul Arriola, FC Dallas, FW
Andre Blake, Philadelphia Union, GK
Alex Callens, New York City FC, CB
Valentín Castellanos, New York City FC, FW
Sebastián Driussi, Austin FC, AM
Jesús Ferreira, FC Dallas, FW
Taxi Fountas, DC United, FW
Carles Gil, New England Revolution, AM
Chicharito Hernández, LA Galaxy, FW
Sean Johnson, New York City FC, GK
Aaron Long, New Jersey Red Bulls
Kamal Miller, CF Montréal, DEF
Jordan Morris, Seattle Sounders, FW
Hany Mukhtar, Nashville SC, AM
Darlington Nagbe, Columbus Crew, DM
Diego Palacios, LAFC, LB
Emanuel Reynoso, Minnesota United, AM
Raúl Ruidíaz, Seattle Sounders, FW
Ilie Sánchez, LAFC, DM
Dayne St. Clair, Minnesota United, GK
Carlos Vela, LAFC, FW
Kai Wagner, Philadelphia Union, LB
DeAndre Yedlin, Inter Miami, RB
Zimmerman, Walker - Nashville SC - CB